Greater New Hope Baptist Church Officers' History

New Hope Baptist Mission was established on November 23, 1933, by Rev. Chester L. Smallwood. Rev. Smallwood was appointed Pastor and eighteen officers were elected. Rev. Smallwood served as the pastor from 1933 until 1937, followed by Rev. Charles H. Hamilton.

In 1938 Rev. Charles H. Hamilton became the pastor of New Hope Baptist Mission. In 1953 under Rev. Hamilton's pastorship, the church was renamed Greater New Hope Baptist Church. Because of Rev. Hamilton's vision and insight, the church moved from 5th Street, NW, downtown to its present location 816 8th Street, NW, Washington, DC. Rev. Charles H. Hamilton served as the pastor from 1938 until 1982.

In 1985 Pastor Melvin G. Brown became the Pastor of Greater New Hope Baptist Church. Thanks be to God, he is still our present shepherd, and was consecrated to Bishop Melvin G. Brown in April 2009.

Each Pastor spiritually led and guided the church congregation with Christian love and dedication.

The History of the Church Board of Deaconess is as follows:

The Board of Deaconess

Reverend Charles H. Hamilton organized the Deaconess Board in 1939. Deaconess Laura Ratcliff was elected President of the Deaconess Board and served in this capacity until 1954. Deaconess Pearl Holloway served as Vice President. The Board was originally composed of the wives of Church Deacons. They were looked upon as the "Mothers of the Church". They were a stable and a vital part of our Church history.

One of the duties of the Deaconess Board is maintaining and keeping the altar dressed.

Both the Deacon and Deaconess are responsible for staying in constant communication with the sick and shut-in of the Church, assisting with the Holy Communion Service, and providing prayers and spiritual guidance to the congregation.

Officers of Greater New Hope Baptist Church 2022

Bishop Melvin G. Brown, Pastor/Sr. Minister Rev. Roderic A. Baskin, Associate Minister Rev. Dr. Jerline Thompson, Associate Minister (sick & shut-in)

Deacon LeRoy Smith, Chairman of the Deacon Board
Deacon Houston Holiday
Deacon Bobb Elliott (sick & shut-in)
Deacon Larry Postell (sick & shut-in)

Deaconess Lena Pollard, Chair of the Deaconess Board
Deaconess Brenda Dawson, Vice Chair of the Deaconess Board
Deaconess Linda Baskin
Deaconess Betty Hedgepeth
Deaconess Frances Upson
Deaconess Jessie Williams
Deaconess Ruth Priest (sick & shut-in)
Mother Margaret Carter

Trustee Paulette Ellison, Chairperson of the Trustee Board Trustee Joy Hawkins, Vice Chairperson of the Trustee Board Trustee Renee Upson Galloway Trustee Chuck Hicks (sick & shut-in)
Trustee Ronnie Johnson (sick & shut-in)
Trustee Emeritus Geneva Dickerson

Roy L. Prince, Treasurer MaryAnn Tolbert, Asst. Treasurer

Lovie Hawkins, Corresponding Secretary Michelle Upson Waters, Church Secretary



Church Officer's Guide



We will follow our Leader, Christ Jesus, the Lord, We'll join in his praises with gracious accord; We'll all look to Heaven as a right blessed home, We'll all do our best whilst on earth we shall roam; Our Christian faith means we'll love each day And God bless us all, as we continue to pray.