

The History of the Paradise Chorus



May 1943 marked the beginning of the Paradise Chorus. Mother Maude Roundtree, Founder and First Counselor, had a dream that she shared with the late Reverend Charles H. Hamilton. She told him she dreamt of a choir named the Paradise Chorus and wanted permission to organize it. Reverend Hamilton agreed. Several members of the Junior Choir (you had to be at least 12 years old) were selected for the choir. Mother Carter was one of them and our only Paradise Chorus Charter Member.

The Paradise Chorus is honored and blessed by Mother Margaret G. Carter. Her melodious tenor voice sets her apart. She freely imparts her wisdom and knowledge with the Paradise Chorus. She also serves as our Treasurer.

In addition to Mrs. Roundtree, Mrs. Ethel Demery served faithfully for seven years as Counselor to the Paradise Chorus.

Through the years, God has been exceedingly good to the Paradise Chorus. God allowed us to sing in Canada and churches throughout the East Coast. The Paradise Chorus appeared on WUSA Television Channel 9's "Spread a Little Sunshine" and sang at Constitution Hall. However, no service is greater than worshiping in songs and praises rendered every third Sunday morning at our 11:00 a.m. Worship Service.

Because of His grace, mercy and favor, God has allowed the Paradise Chorus to labor in His vineyard and sing His praises for 80 years. As a servant of God, The Paradise Chorus shall willingly and joyfully continue uplifting His name in songs and supporting the ministries of the church.

Many of our members have been called to leadership positions in Greater New Hope (Mother of the Church, Ministers, Deacons, Deaconesses, Trustees and Women's Ministry Chairperson), as well as other Branches of Zion in Washington, DC Metropolitan area.

Our history would not be completed without acknowledging and thanking God for all those persons who have served faithful as our Presidents. Our first President was Reola White, followed by Vernell Ledbetter, James Bolden, Genieva Stewart, Mildred Chase, Gussie Sitts, Mother Margaret G. Carter, Rev. William R. Wood, Joe Grant, Calvin Hamilton, Inez C. Williams, Edythe Jones, Eloise Prince and Deaconess Frances J. Upson. Our current President is Theresa A. Bell who serves with dedication, and spiritual leadership.

We ask that you continue to pray for our strength in the Lord as we strive to move forward and closer to God.

